explosions! excitement! effervescence!

The past little while saw me in Edmonton visiting my new nephew (cute little fella!) and eating pho and visiting old friends. I am back in Toronto now and settling down to a regular routine of eat, cook, sleep, repeat. 

Last week was Asian sampler week at the college and it did nothing for me but make me crave all sorts of Asian cuisine. We made a sort of stir-fry and some salad rolls, as well as some curries and naan bread. Image

I was craving Thai coconut curry so bad that finally on Sunday, I had to make some so we had a “family dinner” and we all chipped in making the most fantastic Thai coconut chicken curry with black fungus, red pepper and mango. There was coconut cardamom rice and garlic bok choy as well. 

Image

I didn’t consult a recipe book at all so I am not sure if I can relay what went in here but roughly as follows:

1 onion med dice

1 red pepper med dice

1 whole chicken completely de-boned and cut into chunks

2 cloves garlic minced

1tbsp oil

1 package black fungus (soaked in warm water)

4-5 dried chilis

1 can coconut milk

1 stem lemongrass

1 tsp coriander

1 tsp cardamom

1 tsp tarragon

2 tbsp turmeric

1/2tsp star anise

2-3tsp curry

1 mango sliced

Grind coriander, cardamom, tarragon, turmeric, star anise and curry together. Pre-sauté the red peppers to soften them slightly and then remove them from the pan. Probably not very necessary but we did it anyway. In a sauce pot sauté onions in a little oil until translucent, add in the garlic and chillies (crushed). Add in the chicken and cook until mostly done. Toss the red peppers back in along with the curry powder you made. Add a can of coconut milk and the black fungus and the lemongrass (bend the stalk to release the flavour). Allow to thicken a bit but do not boil! Add the mango seconds before you serve. 

My apologies if this recipe doesn’t work that well, as I said, it was off the top of my head and I really didn’t use measuring cups or anything like that… What I ended up doing is adding spices slowly and then adding the curry at the very end, a little at a time until it tasted right. 

I left the lemongrass in the curry as you can see (the sticks pointing out the sides) but you probably want to remove them, or at the very least try not to choke on them, as they are pretty fibrous and sharp.

Well, that’s all for today… Stay hungry my friends.

 

Leave a Reply

